

High Level Event

Innovative Ways for Sustainable Nutrition, Food Security and Inclusive Agricultural Growth

Palais d'Egmont, Brussels, 25 April 2016

Contact: EuropeAid-C1@ec.europa.eu

The organisation of this event is supported by the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)

08h30-10h00 Registration and coffee

10h15-10h30 Opening

M. Neven Mimica – EU Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development

10h30-12h30 High-level panel (Scene setting)

Moderator:

 Klaus Rudischhauser - acting Director-General, Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development

Panel members:

- Thierry Mandon Secretary of State for Higher Education and Research, France
- Monique Pariat Director-General, EC Directorate-General for Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection
- María de los Ángeles Benítez Salas Deputy Director-General, EC Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development
- Rudolf Strohmeier Deputy Director-General, EC Directorate-General for Research and Innovation
- Monty Jones Minister of Agriculture of Sierra Leone (tbc)
- Charles Brand Executive Vice President Development & Service Operations of Tetra Pak
- Tom Arnold Scaling Up Nutrition Movement Coordinator
- David Nabarro UNSG Special Adviser on 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development introducing the Nutrition Discussion
- Patrick Caron President of the UN High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition introducing the Research Discussion

12h30-13h30 Lunch

Session 1: Enhancing resilience to global food crises - the example of El Niño in 2016

Moderator:

 Marjeta Jager - Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development

Panel members:

- Graziano Da Silva Director General, FAO (tbc)
- Ertharin Cousin Executive Director, WFP (tbc)
- Monique Pariat Director-General, EC Directorate-General for Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection
- Wolfgang Jamann Secretary General, CARE International
- Lotte Knudsen Managing Director, Human rights, global and multilateral issues, EEAS (tbc)
- Djimé Adoum Executive Secretary, CILSS (tbc)

Session 2: Addressing governance and accountability gap in nutrition

Moderator:

 David Nabarro – UNSG Special Adviser on 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Panel members:

- Nick Dyer Director General for Policy and Global Programmes, UK Department for International Development (tbc)
- Mike Penrose CEO of Action Against Hunger, France
- Robinah Mulenga Kwofie National Food and Nutrition Commission of Zambia
- Judith Kimiywe Associate Professor, Department of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics, Kenyatta University
- Stineke Oenema Coordinator of UN Standing Committee on Nutrition
- Tom Arnold Scaling Up Nutrition Movement Coordinator
- Jean-Pierre Halkin Head of Unit for Rural Development, Food and Nutrition Security - EuropeAid

Session 3: Connecting innovation and research to development

Moderator:

 Anne-Marie Descôtes – Directrice Générale Mondialisation, Culture, Education and Développement international, Ministère des Affaires étrangères, France

Panel members:

- Monty Jones Minister of Agriculture of Sierra Leone (tbc)
- John Bell Director Sustainable Bioeconomy, Director-General for Research and Innovation
- Gerda Verburg Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the FAO and future Scaling Up Nutrition Movement Coordinator
- Paolo De Castro Member of the European Parliament
- Albert Schram Vice Chancellor of the Papua New Guinea University of Technology
- Mamadou Cissokho Honorary Chairman of the "West African Network of Farmers Organisations"

Session 4: Promoting innovative financing for agriculture

Moderator:

 John A. Clarke - Director for International relations, EC Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development

Panel members:

- Charles Brand Executive Vice President Development & Service Operations of Tetra Pak
- Marie Konate Côte d'Ivoire Entrepreneur and African Business Woman of the year
- Roberto Ridolfi Director for Sustainable Growth and Development, EC
 Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development
- Thomas Duve Director KfW Bankengruppe
- Jérôme Bertrand-Hardy Deputy Director of operations, Proparco
- Ishmael Sunga CEO of Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions

15 minutes of debate (questions and answers) at the end of each session

15h15-15h45 Coffee break

15h45-16h45 Plenary Session

Moderator: Klaus Rudischhauser - acting Director General – Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development

- Marjeta Jager Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development
- David Nabarro UNSG Special Adviser on 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development
- Anne-Marie Descôtes Directrice Générale Mondialisation, Culture, Education and Développement international, Ministère des Affaires étrangères, France
- John A. Clarke Director for International relations, Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development

Moderators present panels' conclusions and recommendations sessions

16h45-17h15 Closure

Moderator: Klaus Rudischhauser - acting Director General - EuropeAid

Mrs Lilianne Ploumen - Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation, The Netherlands (tbc)

M. Neven Mimica – EU Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development